zipapp —— 管理可执行的 Python zip 打包文件

3.5 版新加入.

原始碼:Lib/zipapp.py


本模块提供了一套管理工具,用于创建包含 Python 代码的压缩文件,这些文件可以 直接由 Python 解释器执行。 本模块提供 命令執行列介面Python API

基本範例

下述例子展示了用 命令執行列介面 根据含有 Python 代码的目录创建一个可执行的打包文件。 运行后该打包文件时,将会执行 myapp 模块中的 main 函数。

$ python -m zipapp myapp -m "myapp:main"
$ python myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

命令執行列介面

若要从命令行调用,则采用以下形式:

$ python -m zipapp source [options]

如果 source 是个目录,将根据 source 的内容创建一个打包文件。如果 source 是个文件,则应为一个打包文件,将会复制到目标打包文件中(如果指定了 -info 选项,将会显示 shebang 行的内容)。

可以接受以下参数:

-o <output>, --output=<output>

将程序的输出写入名为 output 的文件中。若未指定此参数,输出的文件名将与输入的 source 相同,并添加扩展名 .pyz。如果显式给出了文件名,将会原样使用(因此必要时应包含扩展名 .pyz)。

如果 source 是个打包文件,必须指定一个输出文件名(这时 output 必须与 source 不同)。

-p <interpreter>, --python=<interpreter>

给打包文件加入 #! 行,以便指定 解释器 作为运行的命令行。另外,还让打包文件在 POSIX 平台上可执行。默认不会写入 #! 行,也不让文件可执行。

-m <mainfn>, --main=<mainfn>

在打包文件中写入一个 __main__.py 文件,用于执行 mainfnmainfn 参数的形式应为 “pkg.mod:fn”,其中 “pkg.mod”是打包文件中的某个包/模块,“fn”是该模块中的一个可调用对象。__main__.py 文件将会执行该可调用对象。

在复制打包文件时,不能设置 --main 参数。

-c, --compress

利用 deflate 方法压缩文件,减少输出文件的大小。默认情况下,打包文件中的文件是不压缩的。

在复制打包文件时,--compress 无效。

3.7 版新加入.

--info

显示嵌入在打包文件中的解释器程序,以便诊断问题。这时会忽略其他所有参数,SOURCE 必须是个打包文件,而不是目录。

-h, --help

打印简短的用法信息并退出。

Python API

该模块定义了两个快捷函数:

zipapp.create_archive(source, target=None, interpreter=None, main=None, filter=None, compressed=False)

source 创建一个应用程序打包文件。source 可以是以下形式之一:

  • 一个目录名,或指向目录的 path-like object ,这时将根据目录内容新建一个应用程序打包文件。

  • 一个已存在的应用程序打包文件名,或指向这类文件的 path-like object,这时会将该文件复制为目标文件(会稍作修改以反映出 interpreter 参数的值)。必要时文件名中应包括 .pyz 扩展名。

  • 一个以字节串模式打开的文件对象。该文件的内容应为应用程序打包文件,且假定文件对象定位于打包文件的初始位置。

target 参数定义了打包文件的写入位置:

  • 若是个文件名,或是 path-like object,打包文件将写入该文件中。

  • 若是个打开的文件对象,打包文件将写入该对象,该文件对象必须在字节串写入模式下打开。

  • 如果省略了 target (或为 None),则 source 必须为一个目录,target 将是与 source 同名的文件,并加上 .pyz 扩展名。

参数 interpreter 指定了 Python 解释器程序名,用于执行打包文件。这将以 “释伴(shebang)”行的形式写入打包文件的头部。在 POSIX 平台上,操作系统会进行解释,而在 Windows 平台则会由 Python 启动器进行处理。省略 interpreter 参数则不会写入释伴行。如果指定了解释器,且目标为文件名,则会设置目标文件的可执行属性位。

参数 main 指定某个可调用程序的名称,用作打包文件的主程序。仅当 source 为目录且不含 __main__.py 文件时,才能指定该参数。main 参数应采用 “pkg.module:callable”的形式,通过导入“pkg.module”并不带参数地执行给出的可调用对象,即可执行打包文件。如果 source 是目录且不含``__main__.py`` 文件,省略 main 将会出错,生成的打包文件将无法执行。

可选参数 filter 指定了回调函数,将传给代表被添加文件路径的 Path 对象(相对于源目录)。如若文件需要加入打包文件,则回调函数应返回 True

可选参数 compressed 指定是否要压缩打包文件。若设为 True,则打包中的文件将用 deflate 方法进行压缩;否则就不会压缩。本参数在复制现有打包文件时无效。

sourcetarget 指定的是文件对象,则调用者有责任在调用 create_archive 之后关闭这些文件对象。

当复制已有的打包文件时,提供的文件对象只需 readreadline 方法,或 write 方法。当由目录创建打包文件时,若目标为文件对象,将会将其传给 类,且必须提供 zipfile.ZipFile 类所需的方法。

3.7 版新加入: 加入了 filtercompressed 参数。

zipapp.get_interpreter(archive)

返回打包文件开头的 行指定的解释器程序。如果没有 #! 行,则返回 None。参数 archive 可为文件名或在字节串模式下打开以供读取的文件类对象。#! 行假定是在打包文件的开头。

範例

将目录打包成一个文件并运行它。

$ python -m zipapp myapp
$ python myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

同样还可用 create_archive() 函数完成:

>>> import zipapp
>>> zipapp.create_archive('myapp', 'myapp.pyz')

要让应用程序能在 POSIX 平台上直接执行,需要指定所用的解释器。

$ python -m zipapp myapp -p "/usr/bin/env python"
$ ./myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

若要替换已有打包文件中的释伴行,请用 create_archive() 函数另建一个修改好的打包文件:

>>> import zipapp
>>> zipapp.create_archive('old_archive.pyz', 'new_archive.pyz', '/usr/bin/python3')

若要原地更新打包文件,可用 BytesIO 对象在内存中进行替换,然后再覆盖源文件。注意,原地覆盖文件会有风险,出错时会丢失原文件。这里没有考虑出错情况,但生产代码则应进行处理。另外,这种方案仅当内存足以容纳打包文件时才有意义:

>>> import zipapp
>>> import io
>>> temp = io.BytesIO()
>>> zipapp.create_archive('myapp.pyz', temp, '/usr/bin/python2')
>>> with open('myapp.pyz', 'wb') as f:
>>>     f.write(temp.getvalue())

指定解释器程序

注意,如果指定了解释器程序再发布应用程序打包文件,需要确保所用到的解释器是可移植的。Windows 的 Python 启动器支持大多数常见的 POSIX #! 行,但还需要考虑一些其他问题。

  • 如果采用“/usr/bin/env python”(或其他格式的 python 调用命令,比如“/usr/bin/python”),需要考虑默认版本既可能是 Python 2 又可能是 Python 3,应让代码在两个版本下均能正常运行。

  • 如果用到的 Python 版本明确,如“/usr/bin/env python3”,则没有该版本的用户将无法运行应用程序。(如果代码不兼容 Python 2,可能正该如此)。

  • 因为无法指定“python X.Y以上版本”,所以应小心“/usr/bin/env python3.4”这种精确版本的指定方式,因为对于 Python 3.5 的用户就得修改释伴行,比如:

通常应该用“/usr/bin/env python2”或“/usr/bin/env python3”的格式,具体根据代码适用于 Python 2 还是 3 而定。

用 zipapp 创建独立运行的应用程序

利用 zipapp 模块可以创建独立运行的 Python 程序,以便向最终用户发布,仅需在系统中装有合适版本的 Python 即可运行。操作的关键就是把应用程序代码和所有依赖项一起放入打包文件中。

创建独立运行打包文件的步骤如下:

  1. 照常在某个目录中创建应用程序,于是会有一个 myapp 目录,里面有个``__main__.py`` 文件,以及所有支持性代码。

  2. 用 pip 将应用程序的所有依赖项装入 myapp 目录。

    $ python -m pip install -r requirements.txt --target myapp
    

    (这里假定在 requirements.txt 文件中列出了项目所需的依赖项,也可以在 pip 命令行中列出依赖项)。

  3. pip 在 myapp 中创建的 .dist-info 目录,是可以删除的。这些目录保存了 pip 用于管理包的元数据,由于接下来不会再用到 pip,所以不是必须存在,当然留下来也不会有什么坏处。

  4. 用以下命令打包:

    $ python -m zipapp -p "interpreter" myapp
    

这会生成一个独立的可执行文件,可在任何装有合适解释器的机器上运行。详情参见 指定解释器程序。可以单个文件的形式分发给用户。

在 Unix 系统中,myapp.pyz 文件将以原有文件名执行。如果喜欢 “普通”的命令名,可以重命名该文件,去掉扩展名 .pyz 。在 Windows 系统中,myapp.pyz[w] 是可执行文件,因为 Python 解释器在安装时注册了扩展名``.pyz`` 和 .pyzw

制作 Windows 可执行文件

在 Windows 系统中,可能没有注册扩展名 .pyz,另外有些场合无法“透明”地识别已注册的扩展(最简单的例子是,subprocess.run(['myapp']) 就找不到——需要明确指定扩展名)。

因此,在 Windows 系统中,通常最好 由zipapp 创建一个可执行文件。虽然需要用到 C 编译器,但还是相对容易做到的。基本做法有赖于以下事实,即 zip 文件内可预置任意数据,Windows 的 exe 文件也可以附带任意数据。因此,创建一个合适的启动程序并将 .pyz 文件附在后面,最后就能得到一个单文件的可执行文件,可运行 Python 应用程序。

合适的启动程序可以简单如下:

#define Py_LIMITED_API 1
#include "Python.h"

#define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
#include <windows.h>

#ifdef WINDOWS
int WINAPI wWinMain(
    HINSTANCE hInstance,      /* handle to current instance */
    HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,  /* handle to previous instance */
    LPWSTR lpCmdLine,         /* pointer to command line */
    int nCmdShow              /* show state of window */
)
#else
int wmain()
#endif
{
    wchar_t **myargv = _alloca((__argc + 1) * sizeof(wchar_t*));
    myargv[0] = __wargv[0];
    memcpy(myargv + 1, __wargv, __argc * sizeof(wchar_t *));
    return Py_Main(__argc+1, myargv);
}

若已定义了预处理器符号 WINDOWS,上述代码将会生成一个 GUI 可执行文件。若未定义则生成一个可执行的控制台文件。

直接使用标准的 MSVC 命令行工具,或利用 distutils 知道如何编译 Python 源代码,即可编译可执行文件:

>>> from distutils.ccompiler import new_compiler
>>> import distutils.sysconfig
>>> import sys
>>> import os
>>> from pathlib import Path

>>> def compile(src):
>>>     src = Path(src)
>>>     cc = new_compiler()
>>>     exe = src.stem
>>>     cc.add_include_dir(distutils.sysconfig.get_python_inc())
>>>     cc.add_library_dir(os.path.join(sys.base_exec_prefix, 'libs'))
>>>     # First the CLI executable
>>>     objs = cc.compile([str(src)])
>>>     cc.link_executable(objs, exe)
>>>     # Now the GUI executable
>>>     cc.define_macro('WINDOWS')
>>>     objs = cc.compile([str(src)])
>>>     cc.link_executable(objs, exe + 'w')

>>> if __name__ == "__main__":
>>>     compile("zastub.c")

生成的启动程序用到了 “受限 ABI”,所以可在任意版本的 Python 3.x 中运行。只要用户的 PATH 中包含了 Python(python3.dll)路径即可。

若要得到完全独立运行的发行版程序,可将附有应用程序的启动程序,与“内嵌版” Python 打包在一起即可。这样在架构匹配(32位或64位)的任一 PC 上都能运行。

注意事项

要将应用程序打包为单个文件,存在一些限制。大多数情况下,无需对应用程序进行重大修改即可解决。

  1. 如果应用程序依赖某个带有 C 扩展的包,则此程序包无法由打包文件运行(这是操作系统的限制,因为可执行代码必须存在于文件系统中,操作系统才能加载)。这时可去除打包文件中的依赖关系,然后要求用户事先安装好该程序包,或者与打包文件一起发布并在 __main__.py 中增加代码,将未打包模块的目录加入 sys.path 中。采用增加代码方式时,一定要为目标架构提供合适的二进制文件(可能还需在运行时根据用户的机器选择正确的版本加入 sys.path)。

  2. 若要如上所述发布一个 Windows 可执行文件,就得确保用户在 PATH 中包含``python3.dll`` 的路径(安装程序默认不会如此),或者应把应用程序与内嵌版 Python 一起打包。

  3. 上述给出的启动程序采用了 Python 嵌入 API。 这意味着应用程序将会是 sys.executable ,而*不是*传统的 Python 解释器。代码及依赖项需做好准备。例如,如果应用程序用到了 multiprocessing 模块,就需要调用 multiprocessing.set_executable() 来让模块知道标准 Python 解释器的位置。

Python 打包应用程序的格式

自 2.6 版开始,Python 即能够执行包含 文件的打包文件了。为了能被 Python 执行,应用程序的打包文件必须为包含 __main__.py 文件的标准 zip 文件,__main__.py 文件将作为应用程序的入口运行。类似于常规的 Python 脚本,父级(这里指打包文件)将放入 sys.path ,因此可从打包文件中导入更多的模块。

zip 文件格式允许在文件中预置任意数据。利用这种能力,zip 应用程序格式在文件中预置了一个标准的 POSIX “释伴”行(#!/path/to/interpreter)。

因此,Python zip 应用程序的格式会如下所示:

  1. 可选的释伴行,包含字符 b'#!',后面是解释器名,然后是换行符 (b'\n')。 解释器名可为操作系统 “释伴”处理所能接受的任意值,或为 Windows 系统中的 Python 启动程序。解释器名在 Windows 中应用 UTF-8 编码,在 POSIX 中则用 sys.getfilesystemencoding()

  2. 标准的打包文件由 zipfile 模块生成。其中 必须 包含一个名为``__main__.py`` 的文件(必须位于打包文件的“根”目录——不能位于某个子目录中)。打包文件中的数据可以是压缩或未压缩的。

如果应用程序的打包文件带有释伴行,则在 POSIX 系统中可能需要启用可执行属性,以允许直接执行。

不一定非要用本模块中的工具创建应用程序打包文件,本模块只是提供了便捷方案,上述格式的打包文件可用任何方式创建,均可被 Python 接受。

28.4. zipapp — Manage executable python zip archives

New in version 3.5.

Source code: Lib/zipapp.py

This module provides tools to manage the creation of zip files containing Python code, which can be executed directly by the Python interpreter. The module provides both a Command-Line Interface and a Python API.

28.4.1. Basic Example

The following example shows how the Command-Line Interface can be used to create an executable archive from a directory containing Python code. When run, the archive will execute the main function from the module myapp in the archive.

$ python -m zipapp myapp -m "myapp:main"
$ python myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

28.4.2. Command-Line Interface

When called as a program from the command line, the following form is used:

$ python -m zipapp source [options]

If source is a directory, this will create an archive from the contents of source. If source is a file, it should be an archive, and it will be copied to the target archive (or the contents of its shebang line will be displayed if the –info option is specified).

The following options are understood:

-o <output>, --output=<output>

Write the output to a file named output. If this option is not specified, the output filename will be the same as the input source, with the extension .pyz added. If an explicit filename is given, it is used as is (so a .pyz extension should be included if required).

An output filename must be specified if the source is an archive (and in that case, output must not be the same as source).

-p <interpreter>, --python=<interpreter>

Add a #! line to the archive specifying interpreter as the command to run. Also, on POSIX, make the archive executable. The default is to write no #! line, and not make the file executable.

-m <mainfn>, --main=<mainfn>

Write a __main__.py file to the archive that executes mainfn. The mainfn argument should have the form “pkg.mod:fn”, where “pkg.mod” is a package/module in the archive, and “fn” is a callable in the given module. The __main__.py file will execute that callable.

--main cannot be specified when copying an archive.


Display the interpreter embedded in the archive, for diagnostic purposes. In this case, any other options are ignored and SOURCE must be an archive, not a directory.

-h, --help

Print a short usage message and exit.

28.4.3. Python API

The module defines two convenience functions:

zipapp.create_archive(source, target=None, interpreter=None, main=None)

Create an application archive from source. The source can be any of the following:

  • The name of a directory, or a pathlib.Path object referring to a directory, in which case a new application archive will be created from the content of that directory.
  • The name of an existing application archive file, or a pathlib.Path object referring to such a file, in which case the file is copied to the target (modifying it to reflect the value given for the interpreter argument). The file name should include the .pyz extension, if required.
  • A file object open for reading in bytes mode. The content of the file should be an application archive, and the file object is assumed to be positioned at the start of the archive.

The target argument determines where the resulting archive will be written:

  • If it is the name of a file, or a pathlb.Path object, the archive will be written to that file.
  • If it is an open file object, the archive will be written to that file object, which must be open for writing in bytes mode.
  • If the target is omitted (or None), the source must be a directory and the target will be a file with the same name as the source, with a .pyz extension added.

The interpreter argument specifies the name of the Python interpreter with which the archive will be executed. It is written as a “shebang” line at the start of the archive. On POSIX, this will be interpreted by the OS, and on Windows it will be handled by the Python launcher. Omitting the interpreter results in no shebang line being written. If an interpreter is specified, and the target is a filename, the executable bit of the target file will be set.

The main argument specifies the name of a callable which will be used as the main program for the archive. It can only be specified if the source is a directory, and the source does not already contain a __main__.py file. The main argument should take the form “pkg.module:callable” and the archive will be run by importing “pkg.module” and executing the given callable with no arguments. It is an error to omit main if the source is a directory and does not contain a __main__.py file, as otherwise the resulting archive would not be executable.

If a file object is specified for source or target, it is the caller’s responsibility to close it after calling create_archive.

When copying an existing archive, file objects supplied only need read and readline, or write methods. When creating an archive from a directory, if the target is a file object it will be passed to the zipfile.ZipFile class, and must supply the methods needed by that class.


Return the interpreter specified in the #! line at the start of the archive. If there is no #! line, return None. The archive argument can be a filename or a file-like object open for reading in bytes mode. It is assumed to be at the start of the archive.

28.4.4. Examples

Pack up a directory into an archive, and run it.

$ python -m zipapp myapp
$ python myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

The same can be done using the create_archive() functon:

>>> import zipapp
>>> zipapp.create_archive('myapp.pyz', 'myapp')

To make the application directly executable on POSIX, specify an interpreter to use.

$ python -m zipapp myapp -p "/usr/bin/env python"
$ ./myapp.pyz
<output from myapp>

To replace the shebang line on an existing archive, create a modified archive using the create_archive() function:

>>> import zipapp
>>> zipapp.create_archive('old_archive.pyz', 'new_archive.pyz', '/usr/bin/python3')

To update the file in place, do the replacement in memory using a BytesIO object, and then overwrite the source afterwards. Note that there is a risk when overwriting a file in place that an error will result in the loss of the original file. This code does not protect against such errors, but production code should do so. Also, this method will only work if the archive fits in memory:

>>> import zipapp
>>> import io
>>> temp = io.BytesIO()
>>> zipapp.create_archive('myapp.pyz', temp, '/usr/bin/python2')
>>> with open('myapp.pyz', 'wb') as f:
>>>     f.write(temp.getvalue())

28.4.5. Specifying the Interpreter

Note that if you specify an interpreter and then distribute your application archive, you need to ensure that the interpreter used is portable. The Python launcher for Windows supports most common forms of POSIX #! line, but there are other issues to consider:

  • If you use “/usr/bin/env python” (or other forms of the “python” command, such as “/usr/bin/python”), you need to consider that your users may have either Python 2 or Python 3 as their default, and write your code to work under both versions.
  • If you use an explicit version, for example “/usr/bin/env python3” your application will not work for users who do not have that version. (This may be what you want if you have not made your code Python 2 compatible).
  • There is no way to say “python X.Y or later”, so be careful of using an exact version like “/usr/bin/env python3.4” as you will need to change your shebang line for users of Python 3.5, for example.

Typically, you should use an “/usr/bin/env python2” or “/usr/bin/env python3”, depending on whether your code is written for Python 2 or 3.

28.4.6. Creating Standalone Applications with zipapp

Using the zipapp module, it is possible to create self-contained Python programs, which can be distributed to end users who only need to have a suitable version of Python installed on their system. The key to doing this is to bundle all of the application’s dependencies into the archive, along with the application code.

The steps to create a standalone archive are as follows:

  1. Create your application in a directory as normal, so you have a myapp directory containing a __main__.py file, and any supporting application code.

  2. Install all of your application’s dependencies into the myapp directory, using pip:

    $ python -m pip install -r requirements.txt --target myapp

    (this assumes you have your project requirements in a requirements.txt file - if not, you can just list the dependencies manually on the pip command line).

  3. Optionally, delete the .dist-info directories created by pip in the myapp directory. These hold metadata for pip to manage the packages, and as you won’t be making any further use of pip they aren’t required - although it won’t do any harm if you leave them.

  4. Package the application using:

    $ python -m zipapp -p "interpreter" myapp

This will produce a standalone executable, which can be run on any machine with the appropriate interpreter available. See Specifying the Interpreter for details. It can be shipped to users as a single file.

On Unix, the myapp.pyz file is executable as it stands. You can rename the file to remove the .pyz extension if you prefer a “plain” command name. On Windows, the myapp.pyz[w] file is executable by virtue of the fact that the Python interpreter registers the .pyz and .pyzw file extensions when installed. Making a Windows executable

On Windows, registration of the .pyz extension is optional, and furthermore, there are certain places that don’t recognise registered extensions “transparently” (the simplest example is that subprocess.run(['myapp']) won’t find your application - you need to explicitly specify the extension).

On Windows, therefore, it is often preferable to create an executable from the zipapp. This is relatively easy, although it does require a C compiler. The basic approach relies on the fact that zipfiles can have arbitrary data prepended, and Windows exe files can have arbitrary data appended. So by creating a suitable launcher and tacking the .pyz file onto the end of it, you end up with a single-file executable that runs your application.

A suitable launcher can be as simple as the following:

#define Py_LIMITED_API 1
#include "Python.h"

#include <windows.h>

#ifdef WINDOWS
int WINAPI wWinMain(
    HINSTANCE hInstance,      /* handle to current instance */
    HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,  /* handle to previous instance */
    LPWSTR lpCmdLine,         /* pointer to command line */
    int nCmdShow              /* show state of window */
int wmain()
    wchar_t **myargv = _alloca((__argc + 1) * sizeof(wchar_t*));
    myargv[0] = __wargv[0];
    memcpy(myargv + 1, __wargv, __argc * sizeof(wchar_t *));
    return Py_Main(__argc+1, myargv);

If you define the WINDOWS preprocessor symbol, this will generate a GUI executable, and without it, a console executable.

To compile the executable, you can either just use the standard MSVC command line tools, or you can take advantage of the fact that distutils knows how to compile Python source:

>>> from distutils.ccompiler import new_compiler
>>> import distutils.sysconfig
>>> import sys
>>> import os
>>> from pathlib import Path

>>> def compile(src):
>>>     src = Path(src)
>>>     cc = new_compiler()
>>>     exe = src.stem
>>>     cc.add_include_dir(distutils.sysconfig.get_python_inc())
>>>     cc.add_library_dir(os.path.join(sys.base_exec_prefix, 'libs'))
>>>     # First the CLI executable
>>>     objs = cc.compile([str(src)])
>>>     cc.link_executable(objs, exe)
>>>     # Now the GUI executable
>>>     cc.define_macro('WINDOWS')
>>>     objs = cc.compile([str(src)])
>>>     cc.link_executable(objs, exe + 'w')

>>> if __name__ == "__main__":
>>>     compile("zastub.c")

The resulting launcher uses the “Limited ABI”, so it will run unchanged with any version of Python 3.x. All it needs is for Python (python3.dll) to be on the user’s PATH.

For a fully standalone distribution, you can distribute the launcher with your application appended, bundled with the Python “embedded” distribution. This will run on any PC with the appropriate architecture (32 bit or 64 bit). Caveats

There are some limitations to the process of bundling your application into a single file. In most, if not all, cases they can be addressed without needing major changes to your application.

  1. If your application depends on a package that includes a C extension, that package cannot be run from a zip file (this is an OS limitation, as executable code must be present in the filesystem for the OS loader to load it). In this case, you can exclude that dependency from the zipfile, and either require your users to have it installed, or ship it alongside your zipfile and add code to your __main__.py to include the directory containing the unzipped module in sys.path. In this case, you will need to make sure to ship appropriate binaries for your target architecture(s) (and potentially pick the correct version to add to sys.path at runtime, based on the user’s machine).
  2. If you are shipping a Windows executable as described above, you either need to ensure that your users have python3.dll on their PATH (which is not the default behaviour of the installer) or you should bundle your application with the embedded distribution.
  3. The suggested launcher above uses the Python embedding API. This means that in your application, sys.executable will be your application, and not a conventional Python interpreter. Your code and its dependencies need to be prepared for this possibility. For example, if your application uses the multiprocessing module, it will need to call multiprocessing.set_executable() to let the module know where to find the standard Python interpreter.

28.4.7. The Python Zip Application Archive Format

Python has been able to execute zip files which contain a __main__.py file since version 2.6. In order to be executed by Python, an application archive simply has to be a standard zip file containing a __main__.py file which will be run as the entry point for the application. As usual for any Python script, the parent of the script (in this case the zip file) will be placed on sys.path and thus further modules can be imported from the zip file.

The zip file format allows arbitrary data to be prepended to a zip file. The zip application format uses this ability to prepend a standard POSIX “shebang” line to the file (#!/path/to/interpreter).

Formally, the Python zip application format is therefore:

  1. An optional shebang line, containing the characters b'#!' followed by an interpreter name, and then a newline (b'\n') character. The interpreter name can be anything acceptable to the OS “shebang” processing, or the Python launcher on Windows. The interpreter should be encoded in UTF-8 on Windows, and in sys.getfilesystemencoding() on POSIX.
  2. Standard zipfile data, as generated by the zipfile module. The zipfile content must include a file called __main__.py (which must be in the “root” of the zipfile - i.e., it cannot be in a subdirectory). The zipfile data can be compressed or uncompressed.

If an application archive has a shebang line, it may have the executable bit set on POSIX systems, to allow it to be executed directly.

There is no requirement that the tools in this module are used to create application archives - the module is a convenience, but archives in the above format created by any means are acceptable to Python.