12. Pour aller plus loin

La lecture de ce tutoriel a probablement renforcé votre intérêt pour Python et vous devez être impatient de l’utiliser pour résoudre des vrais problèmes. Où aller pour en apprendre plus ?

Ce tutoriel fait partie de la documentation de Python, et la documentation de Python est vaste :

  • La bibliothèque standard:

    Nous vous conseillons de naviguer dans le manuel, c’est une référence complète (quoique laconique) sur les types, fonctions et modules de la bibliothèque standard. La distribution standard de Python inclut énormément de code supplémentaire. Il existe des modules pour lire les courriels, récupérer des documents via HTTP, générer des nombres aléatoires, analyser les paramètres de la ligne de commande, écrire des programmes CGI, compresser des données et beaucoup d’autres fonctions. Une balade dans la documentation de la bibliothèque vous donnera une idée de ce qui est disponible.

  • installation des modules python (Version historique) explique comment installer des modules externes écrits par d’autres utilisateurs de Python.

  • La référence du langage Python contient une explication détaillée de la syntaxe et sémantique de Python. C’est une lecture fastidieuse, mais elle a sa place dans une documentation exhaustive.

D’autres ressources :

  • https://www.python.org est le site principal pour Python. Il contient du code, de la documentation, des liens vers d’autres sites traitant de Python partout sur Internet. Il est répliqué dans différents endroits autour du globe, comme en Europe, au Japon et en Australie. Ces répliques peuvent dans certains cas être plus rapides que le site principal, en fonction de l’endroit où vous vous trouvez.
  • https://docs.python.org/fr/ offre un accès rapide à la documentation de Python en français.
  • https://pypi.org: The Python Package Index, previously also nicknamed the Cheese Shop, is an index of user-created Python modules that are available for download. Once you begin releasing code, you can register it here so that others can find it.
  • https://code.activestate.com/recipes/langs/python/: « The Python Cookbook » est un recueil assez imposant d’exemples de code, de modules et de scripts. Les contributions les plus remarquables y sont regroupées dans le livre « Python Cookbook » (O’Reilly & Associates, ISBN 0-596-00797-3).

Pour les questions et problèmes liés à Python, vous pouvez écrire sur le newsgroup comp.lang.python, ou les envoyer à la mailing-list python-list@python.org. Le newsgroup et la mailing list sont liés, les messages écris d’un côté sont automatiquement transférés de l’autre. Il y a environ 120 messages par jour, (avec des pics autour de plusieurs centaines) demandant (et répondant) à des questions, suggérant de nouvelles fonctionnalités, et annonçant de nouveaux modules. Avant d’y écrire, assurez-vous d’avoir lu la Foire Aux Questions (autrement nommée FAQ). Les archives de la mailing list sont disponnibles à https://mail.python.org/pipermail/. La FAQ répond à la pluspart des questions qui reviennent fréquemment, et peut contenir la solution à votre problème.

12. What Now?ΒΆ

Reading this tutorial has probably reinforced your interest in using Python — you should be eager to apply Python to solving your real-world problems. Where should you go to learn more?

This tutorial is part of Python’s documentation set. Some other documents in the set are:

  • The Python Standard Library:

    You should browse through this manual, which gives complete (though terse) reference material about types, functions, and the modules in the standard library. The standard Python distribution includes a lot of additional code. There are modules to read Unix mailboxes, retrieve documents via HTTP, generate random numbers, parse command-line options, write CGI programs, compress data, and many other tasks. Skimming through the Library Reference will give you an idea of what’s available.

  • Installing Python Modules explains how to install external modules written by other Python users.

  • The Python Language Reference: A detailed explanation of Python’s syntax and semantics. It’s heavy reading, but is useful as a complete guide to the language itself.

More Python resources:

  • https://www.python.org: The major Python Web site. It contains code, documentation, and pointers to Python-related pages around the Web. This Web site is mirrored in various places around the world, such as Europe, Japan, and Australia; a mirror may be faster than the main site, depending on your geographical location.
  • https://docs.python.org: Fast access to Python’s documentation.
  • https://pypi.python.org/pypi: The Python Package Index, previously also nicknamed the Cheese Shop, is an index of user-created Python modules that are available for download. Once you begin releasing code, you can register it here so that others can find it.
  • http://code.activestate.com/recipes/langs/python/: The Python Cookbook is a sizable collection of code examples, larger modules, and useful scripts. Particularly notable contributions are collected in a book also titled Python Cookbook (O’Reilly & Associates, ISBN 0-596-00797-3.)

For Python-related questions and problem reports, you can post to the newsgroup comp.lang.python, or send them to the mailing list at python-list@python.org. The newsgroup and mailing list are gatewayed, so messages posted to one will automatically be forwarded to the other. There are around 120 postings a day (with peaks up to several hundred), asking (and answering) questions, suggesting new features, and announcing new modules. Before posting, be sure to check the list of Frequently Asked Questions (also called the FAQ). Mailing list archives are available at https://mail.python.org/pipermail/. The FAQ answers many of the questions that come up again and again, and may already contain the solution for your problem.